Legal status of marijuana in the state of new jersey
Last updated Published
Find out about the legal status of medical and recreational marijuana in the state of New Jersey. Is marijuana illegal? Better safe than sorry!
MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN NEW JERSEY
Medical marijuana is legal for patients with a prescription from a licensed physician in New Jersey since 2010, but medical marijuana was not available until 2012.
Patients are allowed to purchase up to 2 oz (56 grams) of medical marijuana at state controlled alternate treatment centers every 30 days.
The qualifying conditions to become a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey include:
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV/AIDS (including associated nausea and pain)
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
- Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
- Lou Gehrig’s disease (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS)
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular dystrophy
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorder (including those characteristic of epilepsy)
- Terminal illness with a life expectancy of less than 12 months of life
RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA IN NEW JERSEY
The cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis for recreational purposes are illegal in New Jersey.
Getting caught with up to 50 grams of cannabis is treated as a disorderly persons offense and is punishable with up to 6 months in prison and a fine of up to $1,000.
More than that is considered a felony and will get you up to 18 months in jail and possibly a fine of up to a whopping 25,000.
There have been many talks about legalizing recreation use in New Jersey, but at the moment we are not aware of any possible law changes in the (near) future in New Jersey regarding medical and/or recreational cannabis.