Legal status of marijuana in the state of arkansas
Last updated Published
Find out about the legal status of medical and recreational marijuana in the state of Arkansas. Is marijuana illegal? Better safe than sorry!
MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN ARKANSAS
Medical marijuana is legal for patients with a prescription from a licensed physician in Arkansas since the beginning of 2017.
The qualifying conditions to become a medical marijuana patient in Arkansas include:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) or Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe arthritis
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
Any chronic or debilitating disease or treatment of diseases which produce one or more of the following:
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- intractable pain
- peripheral neuropathy
- seizures (including characteristic of epilepsy)
- severe nausea
- severe or persistent muscle spasms (including characteristic of multiple sclerosis)
RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA IN ARKANSAS
The cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis for recreational purposes are illegal in Arkansas.
Getting caught with up to 4 oz (114 grams) is considered Class A misdemeanour if it is your first offence and can lead to up to a maximum of 1 year in jail and/or a fine up to $2,500.
Getting caught a second time or with more than 4 oz can lead up to 6 years in jail and/or a fine up to $10,000.
We are not aware of any possible law changes in the (near) future in Arkansas regarding medical and/or recreational cannabis.