Legal status of marijuana in the state of mississippi
Last updated Published
Find out about the legal status of medical and recreational marijuana in the state of Mississippi. Is marijuana illegal? Better safe than sorry!
MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN MISSISSIPPI
The only medical marijuana product legal in Mississippi is cannabidiol (CBD) in oil form with less than 15% CBD and less than 0.5% THC. Although this is already a very big restriction, the only patients with access to this, are patients who get a medical recommendation from a physician from the University of Mississippi Medical Center to participate in the current clinical trial.
The only qualifying condition to become a medical marijuana patient in Mississippi is:
- Debilitating epileptic seizure disorders
RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA IN MISSISSIPPI
Possession of small amounts of cannabis up to 28 grams (1 oz) for personal usage is decriminalized in Mississippi.
Although possession of small amounts of cannabis up to 28 grams (1 oz) for personal usage is decriminalized in Mississippi, this only does not land you in jail if it is your first offense. It does however get you a fine of up to $250.
Getting caught a 2nd time with up to 28 grams of weed might land you in jail for a minimum of 5 days and up to 6 months. It will also get you another fine of $250.
A 4th time will still be treated as a misdemeanor and again land you in jail for up to 60 days, but this time the fine will be as high as up to $1,000.
Getting caught with more than 28 grams and up to 250 grams if a felony and will land you in prison for 1-3 years plus get you a fine of up to $1,000.
More than 250 grams means the time jail goes up, starting with 2-8 years for up to 500 grams.
In 2016 an initiative to legalize recreational cannabis for adults has been filed in Mississippi, but so far nothing has changed and recreational cannabis is still illegal.