Legal status of marijuana in the state of missouri
Last updated Published
Find out about the legal status of medical and recreational marijuana in the state of Missouri. Is marijuana illegal? Better safe than sorry!
MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN MISSOURI
Missouri has one of harshest cannabis laws in the country and it comes to no surprise that this state has a very limited medical marijuana program.
Technically the state allows medical marijuana patients the use of cannabidiol (CBD) in oil form, but only if the oil is derived from hemp plants and not marijuana plants. The oil should have less than 0,3% THC and a CBD percentage over 5%. The production, sale and possession of any other form of medicinal marijuana products are illegal in Missouri.
In theory there are very few people in Missouri with access to the medicine as it is said that very few doctors are recommending it to their patients as they are afraid of reprimands.
The only qualifying condition to become a medical marijuana patient in Missouri is:
- Intractable epilepsy
MARIJUANA IN MISSOURI
The cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis for recreational purposes are highly illegal in Missouri.
The state of Missouri has been known as having some of the most severe drug laws in the country and cannabis laws were no exception.
A little change in this was made in the beginning of 2017 when the state partly decriminalized possession of small quantities of cannabis for personal use.
Getting caught with an amount of cannabis than 10 grams or less will be seen as a misdemeanor and you won't go to jail. You will however get a fine of up to $250. But you will only get this lucky just the one time.
Getting caught a second time with up to 10 grams can land you in jail for up to a year and get you a fine of up to $2,000.
Getting caught with more than 10 grams of cannabis but less than 35 grams, is still treated as a misdemeanor and can also get you a jail sentence up to 1 year and a fine of up to $2,000.
More than 35 grams is seen a felony though, and can land you in jail for a whopping 7 years and get you an additional fine of up to $10,000.
In 2017 a bill was proposed to legalize both recreational and medical marijuana for adults over 21 in the state of Missouri. If enough signatures are collected, the proposal will be included on the ballot for elections in November 2018.